In Membership, if I want to move someone from one subscription to another…

We have a number of subscriptions that we no longer offer and people are still subscribed to them. Many are trials that moved the subscriber to member. Is it safe and possible now to move these people to a different subscription (same offer, price) and will they continue paying automatically via the PayPal Payments Standard Gateway?